What alcoholic beverages may I consume?

According to the Canadian Celiac Association, distilled beverages such as gin, vodka, scotch whisky, and rye whisky can be consumed by celiac people as the distillation process eliminates prolamins from the grain.

Reference: "Acceptability of Food & Food Ingredients for the Gluten-Free Diet" pocket Dictionary.
3rd Edition, CCA Approved, May 2099
Oct 2010 revision
Compiled by: Alexandra Anca, MHSc., RD
Consulting Dietitian


In her article “Alcohol, Vinegar and Wheat-Free Products” in http://www.glutenfreediet.ca, Mrs. Shelley Case, Bsc, RD, states that many alcoholic beverages such as wine, liqueurs, and distilled beverage may be consumed in a gluten-free diet. However, ciders and coolers should be approached with care. Reading the ingredients list is crucial as some may contain barley malt and hydrolyzed wheat protein.